Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Prom and Laryngitis

Hey folks! It's been a while huh?
Sorry about that but I have been busy working and catching up with school.
Now I have laryngitis and am able to rest a little so I have time to blog.
Boys you might want to bypass this post because we are gonna talk about prom dresses!
Yay!  What fun!
Now normally I don't wear dresses, like, ever. I pretty much only wear them to dances and Easter Mass. That's it. I'm not a girly girl by any stretch of the imagination and I like it that way as do my friends Kitty and Bex. We hate shopping. *audience gasps*  But anywho here are some pics of us is our dresses. Why don't y'all leave comments and tell me which ones are your favorites.
                                                         SRP, kitty, me, goaliegal, and Robyn
Now, I should probably explain that since we are home schooled our Prom has a dress code. We can't wear strapless dresses, our dresses have to reach the knee, no plunging necklines etc. So this makes shopping for dresses difficult because we either have to buy a full body suit or a dress that can be altered to fit the dress code. Makes me want to be a guy. The only "dress code" they get is "Wear formal suits" Why is their shopping much easier?
                                                           This one might be my favorite
You know what? I just realized that these are the first pictures you guys have seen of me!
                                                    Too pricey but I like it.
                                                              Cheetahs!!!!
                                                               goaliegal

Now it is time to show you dresses that would NOT be allowed at prom.

I think that it is longer on me because I'm short.
This is the one my mom wants me to get.
~capsangel

Monday, February 6, 2012

One for the Guys

This is a little piece of advice for all teenage guys, so listen up!
There is a little subject that I would like to talk about called "Chivalry"
Yes, many of you may not have heard of this word and if you haven't PLEASE look it up and start practicing it!
It is a dying art in this day and age.
I know that guys can be a little shy and insecure at dances but if you see a girl who has not been asked to dance please ask her!!!! I know that it takes courage, but trust me you will make her night. I don't care if you have a girlfriend or not, just ask her to dance because it is the chivalrous thing to do. Don't ignore your friends just because you happen to have a date. If your girlfriend has a problem with this then that just shows you what kind of person she is and how much trust she doesn't have in you.
Single guys, don't wait for a girl to come up to you and ask you to dance because, chances are, she is just as shy as you! I know that girls have now been made into the predators and men have become the prey, but it should be the other way around! What is happening to manliness? It should be men pursuing the women not the other way around!
Another pet peeve I have about dances is when a girl goes and  asks up to a boy and asks him to dance and he says "no". (Boys, you know who you are) Girls don't handle rejection as well as guys, it makes them think that they aren't good enough. How would you feel if you asked a girl to dance and she said no. Wouldn't feel so good would it? So don't say no, dance with her, look her in the eye, not at her feet.
Listen to my advice, you will make a girl's  night better just by asking her to dance. It's that simple.

~capsangel

Monday, January 9, 2012

I am a nerd

Yes folks, it is true I am a nerd.
I just realized how sad it was last night when Goalie gal was at my house.
We were playing Trivial Pursuit.
I know what you are thinking. "What kind of 17 year old girls play Trivial Pursuit?"
answer: the home school kind.
Anyways I was crushing her in the history category, because for some reason all the questions that she was pulling were either Russian history or WW2 history, both of which I'm good at.
Anyways she pulled a card out that asked, "Who is interred next to Lenin in the Red Square Mausoleum in Moscow."
I honestly had no idea who it was. So, I guessed. "Stalin?" and I was correct.
Another question I got had to do with a tsarina, I forget what the question was but Goalie gal liked the fact that I answered "Catherine the Great, because I think she is shady."
I was right again.
So thus I discovered that I am a nerd.......and that Russian and Eurasian Studies is the right major for me.
Do any of you readers know what you want to major in?
~capsangel

Friday, January 6, 2012

Russia and Hockey

Sorry I haven't posted in a while. I was on vacation and I have a strict no computer rule while on vacation.
I hope you all had a blessed and merry Christmas.
My Christmas was amazing. My parents got me something very special for Christmas that combines my 2 favorite things; Russia and Hockey.
They got me a matryoshka(FYI, that is English script,not Russian), which, for those of you who don't speak Russian is a nesting doll.
You know, the little doll that you open up and there is another inside and then one inside that one etc.
I know you are probably wondering what that has to do with hockey so I will show you.
It is a Washington Capitals matryoshka! Isn't it cute?
It is now proudly displayed next to my other matryoshka that I got last year for Christmas
They are more traditional than the Caps one.

On a totally different subject, Did anyone watch the World Junior Championships for hockey?
I did. (bet that shocks you)
Russia made it to the gold medal game and played against Sweden last night.
Oh boy was it a nail-biter! Those goalies put on a clinic -note: for the hockey impaired this means that they played amazing- It was  0-0 at the end of the third so they went to OT.......and unfortunately Sweden won gold. I was sad. I wanted Russia to win. I also think that Andrei Makarov( the Russian goalie) deserved to win. He stopped 57 of 58 shots. The Swedish goalie only stopped 17 shots.
Now I'm sad.
~capsangel




Friday, December 23, 2011

Squirangles and Gift Exchanges

Now, I bet you are wondering what a squirangle is. Well as squirangle is a combo of a square and a triangle smashed together.
And that was the shape of my Christmas present from Goaliegal.
She called me on the phone and asked me how to wrap my own Christmas present by just telling me it was a squirangle(actually I dubbed it a squirangle, but whatever) and not telling what it was.(How mean is that?) I told her to just to stick it in a gift bag, but nooooooo. She didn't listen to me, she just had to try and wrap it and stick Robyn's and Ev's gift bags.
Anywho, this is my lovely squirangle.
Isn't the wrapping job lovely. Hmm seems to me like someone should listen to me more often huh? :P
This is what was inside...
It smells really yummy.
I got a headband and bath salts from Robyn.
And we ate lots tons of sweets that I brought from work.
There was cookies, apple pie, shortbread(Ev), and peppermint bark (Robyn).
                                                Robyn and the food ;)
We also all talked about Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol which is an awesome movie
you should totally go see it.
~capsangel


p.s. Ha! notice that I went through a whole post with no pictures of me. I'll try to fix that.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Random

I decided to change the font for this blog because my excited smiley face in my last post didn't look like a smiley face.

College

So, as I mentioned before, I'm a high school senior. I have spent the past 3 or 4 months writing essays and sending out college applications and have been waiting with bated breath to hear something back.
Yesterday, I finally got a response from my top college choice while I was on my way to a religion class.
I screamed, "I GOT INTO GEORGE MASON!!!!!!"
There was a lot of bouncing up and down and victory dancing in the car.
The only thing that made the day any better? My best friend Goaliegal got into George Mason University too.
Can any one say "roommates"?
This is what I feel like right now :D
I still have some more colleges to hear from but it feels like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders.
Congrats to my friend Robyn as well for getting into Belmont Abbey!
~capsangel